Where is the right place to set a limit for 2Mbps for Ipad

• Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Answered
I have been looking at a nice video where Devin Akin explain problem with a lot of Ipad in a classroom . We have one accesspoint(AP370) per Classroom. Devin saying that 2Mbps per Ipad is enough. I am new to Aerohive so please where should I configer this limit to 2Mbps per Ipad.
Photo of Jan Boje

Jan Boje

• 47 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 4 years ago

Photo of Andrew MacTaggart

Andrew MacTaggart, Champ

• 483 Posts
  • 86 Reply Likes
I would say no need to limit anything. contention will limit by itself. You should try to get your clients on and off as quickly as possible. I assume you have IPADv2. you may want to do client load balancing between 2.4GHz radio and 5GHz radio.

I can tell you that we urge clients to join 5GHz and have 30 IPADs v2 connecting to AP 330 with minimal issues, but it really depends how the IPADs are being used.

the newer IPADs will have 2 streams and support 40MHz channels + SGI etc...
here is what the wifi alliance cert for IPAD air
2.4 GHz, 5 GHz - Switchable
Tx 2 tested Spatial Streams 2.4 GHz
Rx 2 tested Spatial Streams 2.4 GHz
Tx 2 tested Spatial Streams 5 GHz
Rx 2 tested Spatial Streams 5 GHz
Short Guard Interval
TX A-MPDU
40 MHz operation in 5 GHz
HT Duplicate (MCS 32)

There is so much more to the puzzle
AP 370 - are you using 802.3at -some of the 802.11ac features will be disabled if using 802.3af

how are you using the AP370's
what is the distance between APs
are you using 80MHz channels
do you have any clients that are 802.11ac
what is your channel plan like, are you using DFS channels, do the clients support it. Available channels depend on the country you are in.
What power level are the radios at?
have you disabled the lower data rates for b and a radios

Photo of Jan Boje

Jan Boje

• 47 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thanks for the answer.