trunking and the AH 170

• Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Answered
i have a pair of AH 170s that i am using for access across our parking lot to the warhouse, we are trying to trunk across. i have set up my trunk ports on the cisco 3750x as such

switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q 
switchport trunk native vlan 40
 switchport trunk allowed vlan 1-51
 switchport mode trunk

i do a POR and my first ap comes up for about 3 min then it drops offline. i never get the receiving one to come up due to the short time and perhaps config. 

Both AP's are setup with static mgmt ip
eth0 is backhaul
native vlan 40 allowed vlan all , auto transmission and speed.

i am new to aerohive so please be kind. 

Photo of Howard

Howard

• 7 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like

Posted 4 years ago

Photo of J. Goodnough

J. Goodnough, Champ

• 266 Posts
  • 32 Reply Likes
when it comes up for a few minutes and drops offline, are you losing the link?
Photo of Howard

Howard

• 7 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
yes we lose the link.
Photo of J. Goodnough

J. Goodnough, Champ

• 266 Posts
  • 32 Reply Likes
check your cabling, check your port counters for errors. If your link is dropping your issue is at level 1 or 2.
Photo of Brian Powers

Brian Powers, Champ

• 396 Posts
  • 92 Reply Likes
What is the far AP plugged into?  If it is plugged into a switch, the eth0 port needs to be configured to do Bridge-Access (if no VLANs other than the native) or Bridge-802.1Q (if using VLANs on the other side of the link).  If the eth0 link on the far side is set to backhaul, the AP will assume that DHCP will be coming from this interface (at least this is what I feel I was told long ago). 
Photo of Howard

Howard

• 7 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
the far AP is connectd to a cisco 3750e it is configured as a trunk port as well to support several vlan. i have set that as you suggested above.
Photo of Brian Powers

Brian Powers, Champ

• 396 Posts
  • 92 Reply Likes