Odd AP230 experience with loss of connectivity

• Question
  • Updated 5 months ago

I've been fighting this on my own for about 2 months now and decided to ask for some help.

I have one particular portion of my network that complains they can set their watch by the network outage at 10am every morning.

I am obviously a skeptic. But, after watching some pings and connectivity of wifi devices, I notice that between 10 and 10:05 EVERY morning this particular wing drops or at least has pings over 3000ms. Some devices drop completely others just become so slow they can't do anything.

I ran through some other scenarios causing the issue and found that it is only happening to wireless clients, and only happening to clients connected to AP230s. This leads me to believe there is a wireless scan or some 'process' running on those devices at that time. I have tried to remove settings that I could find that point to channel scanning when clients are connected. I also have upgraded to the most recent OS for the AP230s. Today, Dec 28th, there was only 1 device connected at the school, and pings to that device dropped before they became 3300ms and then leveled off to above 500ms then came back to normal after 10:05. After this I reverted all the AP230s back to 6.5.8r code to see if that will work tomorrow.

Has anyone experienced anything like this? And more importantly, has it been fixed?

Photo of Fred Fish

Fred Fish

• 13 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like

Posted 5 months ago

Photo of John Haithwaite

John Haithwaite

• 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I would load a WiFi scanner onto your smarphone and go to the area at 09:55 and scan for what is around. Watch for anything like a new SSID popping up at that time when the performance drops out. Also you could get a laptop with Wireshark loaded up.. don't forget the WiFi scanning option to see what js happening.