HiveManager-NG First upload

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 5 months ago
  • (Edited)
Hello

I hope you can help me with two questions that I have not been able to
resolve since I have not found clear information about the documentation for HiveManager Ng

At the moment I have 2 aps per dhcp and I see them in the console, and configure a network policy but to implement it shows me several options (see image) the first is delta configuration update that according to vi is a quick configuration update and the other it is a complete configuration where it applies all the configurations that are in the hive manager, when selecting the complete one it unfolds me options


Activate at next reboot (requires rebooting manually)
Activate after seconds
Activate at the following time according to the clock system on the updated device

the first that after the deployment I must perform a manual restart, in this case I could do it from the hivemanager or should it be a physical restart by disconnecting the power?

the second to activate in x time, in this case the ap reboots or only records the configuration immediately?

Which one should I run as it is the first configuration that will be sent?


The other question I have is about the configuration rollback, as I understand if the ap uploads to your console and for some reason a configuration change is made (ip change, vlan etc) and this affects the connectivity against hivemanager this after 10 minutes will rollback to the previous configuration without the need for a reset?

If a complete configuration is uploaded and it is successful, and it is restarted without having connectivity to the hivemanager, the configuration of the device could be lost, and after a complete configuration is applied, would this configuration be active?


Thank you
Photo of Danilo Arias

Danilo Arias

  • 22 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 5 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Carsten Buchenau

Carsten Buchenau, Champ

  • 356 Posts
  • 117 Reply Likes
Your best option for the first upload is "Activate after 5 seconds". This way the complete configuration is uploaded, stored on the AP (not yet applied!) and then the AP is rebooted. During the reboot process the new config file is being applied.

If now for some reason the AP cannot reach the Hivemanager anymore (with the new configuration applied during the reboot), then the configuration rollback is initiated. Which I think answers your last question as well?



Activate at next reboot (requires rebooting manually)

Yes, you can trigger the reboot via Hivemanager GUI at any time. We mainly use this option for Firmware updates, as uploading the file can take quite a while in large environments. We then have full control on when to trigger the activation on which APs.


Activate at the following time according to the clock system on the updated device

This can be a good one, too: Do you work during the day, and schedule the activation during the night. BUT: This functionality to work properly heavily depends on the APs having their system clock right, and that depends on proper NTP (& DNS) settings. To verify, log into a few APs via CLI and check the time via "show clock".
Photo of Danilo Arias

Danilo Arias

  • 22 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hello


Thanks for the reply but I do not understand very well when you say


"" If now for some reason the AP cannot reach the Hivemanager anymore (with the new configuration applied during the reboot), then the configuration rollback is initiated. Which I think answers your last question as well? ""


if in that first reboot of activation of configuration does not have connectivity against the hivemanager does rollback BUT if it has connectivity against hivemanager a few minutes and then for some reason the internet connection drops or the internet permissions for the aps are removed the network would work well wireless, and if they subsequently restart without having connectivity to hivemanager, would they perform the rollback process again?

Thank you
Photo of Carsten Buchenau

Carsten Buchenau, Champ

  • 356 Posts
  • 117 Reply Likes
No. Once they are connected to their Hivemanager, the rollback-flag is removed.

So if an AP loses connection to its Hivemanager:
1) Nothing happens on the Wifi side. The Ap continues to work as before, users can connect etc
2) The AP starts its Capwap discovery cycle, which includes several mechanisms (DHCP, DNS, broadcast, connecting to redirector.aerohive.com, ...) - until it can connect again to a valid Hivemanager. In this case, no rollback is triggered, even if that process takes forever.
Photo of Danilo Arias

Danilo Arias

  • 22 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
ok, in summary if I apply a change and restart must connect with connectivity to hivemanager in this way no rollback process will be performed, once restarted and with connectivity with the hive manager it could already remove the permissions to hivemanager and should not generate any rollback.

It is possible via console to determine if any type of rollback will no longer be executed?

Thank you
Photo of Carsten Buchenau

Carsten Buchenau, Champ

  • 356 Posts
  • 117 Reply Likes
Hmmm... check the CLI:

AP-X#show config rollback

Status: enabled
Trigger mode: unknown
Expiration time: 0 minute(s)
Wait ACSP expiration time: 5 minute(s)



AP-X#config rollback ?
capwap-disconnect Perform the configuration rollback if a CAPWAP
disconnection occurs for the defined length of time
(Note: This is useful when uploading a delta
configuration, which does not require the AP to
reboot, and you are concerned that some changes might
disrupt network connectivity for the AP.)
enable Enable the configuration rollback feature
manual Perform the configuration rollback after the defined
length of time elapses regardless of its CAPWAP
connectivity (Note: This option is useful when
accessing the CLI remotely and you are concerned that
some commands might cause the AP to lose its network
connection.)
next-reboot Perform the configuration rollback if a CAPWAP
disconnection occurs for the defined length of time
after the AP reboots (Note: This is useful when
uploading a full configuration, which requires the AP
to reboot, and you are concerned that the new config
might disrupt network connectivity for the AP.)
now Return the configuration to a previously set rollback
point immediately