Help with AP 230/330 updating

• Question
  • Updated 1 year ago
Greetings. Firstly I am a teacher in a small school with responsibility for IT but only limited technical abilities. Our school has 7 AP330s and one AP230 (not sure why the mix) I noticed the APs were showing green instead of white which I believe indicated they werenʻt communicating with the Hive Manager? The HM is running 6.87a but the APs are running 5.3 - 6.4   When you try updating just using the Update Devices option, you get the message "Upload Captive Web Portal Files: Because the device is currently disconnected from Hive Manager, the upload is stages and will resume after the device reconnects" - but it just remains like this. I found a video that showed how to upload the APs manually. But for that, you need to access the APs. The company that oversaw the installation no longer exists. The person that I used to ask about the APs has died! I was given what was supposed to be the password but this doesnʻt work. I have been told I can push a reset button under the APs and reset them that way, but I am concerned about losing the configuration and leaving the school without WiFi. Is there a way of downloading a configuration file so that they can be manually reset and reconfigured. Any help would be incredibly appreciated. Please remember, I am not super technical
Cheers and thanks from New Zealand!
Photo of Howard

Howard

• 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • frustrated

Posted 1 year ago

Photo of Bill W.

Bill W.

• 222 Posts
  • 35 Reply Likes
So on AP330s, a green light means that: "The default route is through the backhaul Ethernet interface, but not all conditions for normal operations (white) have been met." In other words, the AP cannot communicate with HiveManager. With the AP230, it will either be white or amber. AP230s do not have the other colors that the AP330s have. With Aerohive APs, a white LED means that it is connected with HiveManager and all is good.