Deauth/Reinstating a Client

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 3 years ago
Using HM Online, I have a guest consistently (daily) connecting to our Open wi-fi. In theory, there is no problem with that, but this client may have a virus of sorts or the guest likes to look at a lot of inappropriate content. Fortunately we have filter that blocks the content, but at this point, I'd like to keep the client from even getting on our network. Am I understanding the "Deauth" feature correctly in that when I find that client, select it, and choose Operation... Deauth Client, that this client is no longer able to connect to our open wifi? How long does this deauth stay in place, and if it stays in place indefinitely, how do I go about lifting the deauth if I choose to do so? I've searched and searched, and nothing is jumping out at me. Thanks, Justin
Photo of Justin Jarmon

Justin Jarmon

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 3 years ago

  • 1
Photo of John Fabry

John Fabry

  • 28 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes
Find his MAC address and block it in HIVE
You can always go back in and remove the block.
Photo of Nick Lowe

Nick Lowe, Official Rep

  • 2491 Posts
  • 451 Reply Likes
Hi Justin,

Deauth only applies in the context of a current association of a client, it does not affect subsequent authentication/association attempts.

As John says, you therefore need to ensure that means are in place so that subsequent authentication/association attempts are denied before you perform a deauth.

Cheers,

Nick
(Edited)