"Other User" icon after ctrl-alt-delete press.

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Answered
  • (Edited)

When we enable 802.1x we are presented with this other user icon as described here


Any way to get away from this?  Apparently it is by design.

Photo of Loren


  • 48 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes

Posted 4 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Brian Ambler

Brian Ambler

  • 245 Posts
  • 126 Reply Likes
Official Response
Hi Loren,

Aerohive has no control over how Microsoft chooses to design its GUI and according to the answer to the thread which you linked, is indeed designed behavior. You would be seeing this behavior regardless of wireless vendor.

From Microsoft's site:
Just received an update from Microsoft regarding our open case on this issue.

It appears this is a by-design behavior.  The only way to get rid of the "other user" tile would be to create our own custom credential provider.  So it looks like we're stuck with this behavior.  (as we won't be writing our own cred provider)

Marked as answer by barrickd Wednesday, March 21, 2012 2:14 PM