802.1x and MAC Address Authentication

• Question
  • Updated 2 years ago
I am very new to networking and Aerohive and have a question about how to configure both the Hivemanager NG and my Radius Server to Authenticate using 802.1x while also authenticating the MAC address in the database to allow that device on the network with the user's credentials.

Here is the scenario. We are a small private school with around 400 concurrent users, so the native MAC Authentication in the Hivemanager won't work with only 256 allowed MAC Addresses. I have successfully set up 802.1x authentication using our Radius server and AD on two separate SSIDs for users to authenticate their device. What I want to control is what devices they are allowed to authenticate on our network. I want the students to authenticate for filtering and management purposes. We own and provide all of the devices that the students use and I want to be able to limit network access to only our devices and not any rogue devices like cell phones or a personal computers. I know I can control the Cell Phones through an OS assignment rule, but blocking the Cros or Windows would block our devices too.

Does anyone know of any step sheets or resources that can guide me through setting this up if it's possible? If there is a better way to achieve what I am trying to do, please let me know.
Photo of Justin Whitford

Justin Whitford

• 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 2 years ago

Photo of Nick Lowe

Nick Lowe, Official Rep

• 2491 Posts
  • 451 Reply Likes
Hi Justin,

Do not try and implement separate MAC address authentication that is subsequent to 802.1X having first completed.

The client's MAC address is present in the Calling-Station-Id attribute of the RADIUS Access-Request packets. You should use this.